Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Happiest Days
The Alternative School Logbook 1986-87
Jack Sheffield Series – Book X
Jack Sheffield

Bantam Press (Transworld)
26 January 2017/ ISBN
Fiction / /Historical

Reviewed by Rachel A Hyde


It is now 1986 and Jack is starting his tenth year at Ragley-on-the-Forest school, now the amalgamated Ragley and Morton school. Everything looks set to be idyllic, but there are always clouds on the horizon. For example, what exactly is a National Curriculum and why is Jack’s arch enemy Stan Coe being so pleasant?

In common with the Precious Ramotswe series and too little else, this wonderfully life-affirming set of books ought to be available on prescription. Both series show how people can change their small corner of the world by being helpful and welcoming towards each other and highlights the inestimable value of true friendship. There is plenty of humor as the various characters get to grips with the trends and inventions of the mid 80s. They encounter their first “yuppie” complete with brick-sized “mobile” phone, vote in a general election, discover Australian soaps and try some shoulder padded power dressing. The school has a new teacher and a new classroom, Vera ponders retirement, Ruby wonders whether to get married again and Jack has a decision to make. Count in more than one disaster for the folk of Ragley to recover from and you have another highly readable book with a lot in it. This is a perfect mix of humor, drama, social history and autobiography that would make an excellent TV series. I do hope there are many more.

Reviewed 2017