Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Agatha Raisin and The Perfect Paragon
Agatha Raisin series #16

by M C Beaton

      Agatha is finding running a detective agency is getting a little stale, and funds seem to be disappearing fast. After her unhappy marriage with James Lacey, she is reluctant to take on lucrative divorce cases but ultimately she must do this or go under. Never one to give up, Agatha is keen to take the case of Robert Smedley who is convinced that his wife is cheating on him. In the village, Mabel has a reputation as an almost saintly lady prone to good works and of blameless appearance. Can it be that it is Robert that is having the affaire? Then there is the case of missing teenager Jessica Bradley...

I am glad that Ms Beaton has decided to run with the idea of Agatha’s detective agency, as it gives this long-running series another reason to be inventive. New cases and new staff provide plenty of interest in this lively book, which is fairly easy to guess and perhaps more of a howdunit than a whodunit in some ways but none the less entertaining for that. Most of the long-standing characters are here, and like all the best series this one has reached the happy stage where the books are filled with not only plots, but also updates on all our favorite characters and their current situations. As lively and as effortlessly readable as ever, this is one series that I hope will run and run.

The Book

Constable (Constable & Robinson)
June 2006
ISBN-13: 9781845292768
ISBN-10: 1845292766
Contemporary Crime - Cotswolds, UK
More at US|| UK
NOTE: The US version is a different edition.

The Reviewer

Rachel A Hyde
Reviewed 2007
© 2006