Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Agent 6
Tom Rob Smith
Read by Dennis Boutsikaris

Hachette Audio
January 5, 2012 / ISBN: 1611139902
Mystery/Thriller / Audiobook (Unabridged)/ 13 hours, 15 minutes

Reviewed by Jo Rogers

Tom Rob Smith introduced us to Leo Demidov, Leo's wife, Raisa, in his debut novel, Child 44. We met Leo's two daughters, Zoya and Elena, in The Secret Speech. They return in this book, Agent 6. The story begins a few years after the end of The Secret Speech.

Leo no longer works for the KGB, the Soviet Union's secret police. He had believed he was working to make a better world but no longer did. He finally saw his job as Raisa did, so he quit. Life wasn't as secure as it had been, but it was still good. Raisa still worked as a teacher. Leo took a civilian job, but now he wasn't as trusted by the government. They came to watch him as he had watched many others in his years with the KGB.

Then the government assigned Raisa to plan a "Peace Tour" to New York City. Several students would go with her and give concerts at various venues in New York City and Washington, D.C. Leo, because he was former KGB, had not been permitted to go with Raisa and their two daughters. Had he been there, things might have gone better. The concerts went off without a hitch until, in New York, tragedy struck and Leo was powerless to stop it.

This story shows a more introspective Leo, whose disposition had mellowed and whose values had changed since the adoption of his daughters. Raisa is happier now that Leo is no longer with the KGB. The daughters are almost grown. The action is still there but not as much as before. This story is more about the head games the KGB and CIA play to manipulate people. The quality of writing is still the same, with a great plot, solid characters and lots of detailed action. So, listen to Agent 6 and say goodbye to a great trilogy.

Reviews of other titles in this Trilogy

Child 44 [audio] [book]
Secret Speech [audio] [book]
Agent 6 [audio] [review]

Reviewer's Note: Contains violence
Reviewed 2012
© 2012