Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Written In Stone
Books By the Bay Mystery #4
Ellery Adams

Berkley Prime Crime
November 2012/ ISBN 978-0425251737

Reviewed by Cheryl Green

Olivia Limoges gets a message from her friend, Dixie, that Munin the witch wanted to see her about a gift her mother, Camille, gave her years ago. In order to get help from said witch, you had to bring her something you treasure.

Olivia is busy with the upcoming Coastal Carolina Food Festival. She is going to be one of the celebrity judges at a food competition. This is sponsored by the Foodie Network. They will also be promoting her restaurant, The Boot Top.

Olivia and, her faithful companion, her poodle Captain Haviland, are on the way to see Munin. Harlan Scott was a park ranger who was once saved by Munin, who had snake anti-venom that saved his life. Now he runs errands and brings people to see her on his boat.

Munin tells Olivia that her mother once brought her medicine that helped her when she was very sick. She gives Olivia a memory jug she had made that has all the answers to keep death at bay. She also implies that Olivia may have another relative in her future. Olivia is so moved that she gives Munin her starfish necklace ---that keeps her mother close.

At the next Bayside Book Writer get together, Olivia finds out that Munin is dead. She was clutching the necklace Olivia gave her. Olivia needs to research the answers before someone else is “booked.”

Things to ponder: Where was the snake anti-venom? Was Munin leaving a message for Olivia by holding her necklace? Was Munin hiding from someone?

This was another winner of a book. I enjoyed reading it very much. It is filled with interesting and complex characters. I love visiting Olivia and her friends – it is like going home. It is, as usual, a fast read with many twists and turns. So it you like your mystery with a literary edge, then Written in Stone is the book for you.

Reviews of other titles in this series

Last Word #3
Written in Stone #4
Poisoned Prose #5
Lethal Letters #6

Reviewer's Note: Prior books in the series: A Killer Plot, A Deadly Cliché, The Last Word and coming soon Poisoned Proof.
Reviewed 2013