Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Death Come Quickly
China Bayles Mysteries #22
Susan Wittig Albert

Penguin/Berkley Prime Crime
April 7, 2015 / ISBN 978-0425255322
Mystery / Cozy

Reviewed by Linda Morelli


Susan Witting Albert is fast becoming one of my favorite authors, because I have come to love her China Bayles and Darling Dahlias mystery series and anticipate each upcoming release. In this latest novel from this creative author, China and Ruby's friend Karen Prior dies as a result of a mugging. Soon after, one of Karen's film students is also attacked, and China soon realizes that the assaults are tied to a documentary film being made by Karen's students about the ten year old murder of Christine Morris and the acquittal of the man accused of the crime -- a man who later committed suicide. Or did he?

China is a superb protagonist, an ex-attorney with a quick mind who quit her practice to own her own herb shop. Her friend, Ruby, has some psychic ability and often helps with her intuitive thinking. In many mysteries in this series they work in tandem, but in this release, China takes center stage and does most of the sleuthing with surprising results.

As usual, the author has provided a fascinating and tense plot, one that held me entranced until the end. There is also an intriguing subplot dealing with one of my favorite subjects: a valuable art collection. It's clear that Susan Wittig Albert has done her research on both the artists and collecting art, which made this a truly enjoyable one for me. It doesn't matter that I've missed one or two releases along the way, for the author supplies enough information on her characters, in an easy unobtrusive way so that I never feel like I've missed something. The main characters are always charming and true to life, with their own idiosyncrasies and family problems that make them feel like old friends - or fast becoming new ones. I look forward to the next release in this outstanding series.

China Bayles' Book of Days (NonFiction)

Reviews of other titles in this series

Mistletoe Man #9
Dilly of a Death #12
Dead Mans Bones #13
Bleeding Hearts #14
Spanish Dagger #15
Nightshade #16
Wormwood #17 [review 1] [review 2]
Mourning Gloria #19
Cat's Claw #20
Widow's Tears #21
Death Come Quickly #22
Bittersweet #23
Blood Orange #24
The Last Chance Olive Ranch #25 [review 1] [review 2]
Queen Anne's Lace #26

Reviewed 2015