Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Publisher: Warner Books
Release Date: March 2004
ISBN: 0446611123
Format Reviewed: Mass Market Paperback
Buy it at Amazon
Read an Excerpt
Genre: Historical romance / touch of paranormal [Inverfyre, Scotland 1390 -1409]
Reviewed: 2004
Reviewer: Brenda Weeaks
Reviewer Notes: Some sexual content 

The Warrior
The Ravensmuir Trilogy, No. 3
By Claire Delacroix

     “He was the seventh son of Magnus Armstrong, the heir of Inverfyre, the warrior destined to fulfill an old prophecy, and the son of the greatest thief in Christendom besides. Fortune would not dare deny him his due.”

     It’s 1390 and Michael Lammergeir’s quest has begun. He is destined to reclaim Clan property seized long ago. Upon arriving at the Inverfyre forest, Michael and his group cross the path of an Adaira, an old woman haunting the forest. Adaira mystically shares the past and the future with Michael, warning him of two souls doomed to passion and betrayal in every life.

    Nineteen years later, Aileen finds herself the subject of her father’s notorious guest, Michael the Hawk, known to have killed many in the recapture of Inverfyre. Fearless and uncommon in her manner, Aileen intrigues Michael. Their first kiss mystically reveals more than either are ready for, and the temptation is too great for Michael. Like a hawk, he takes to the night with Aileen.

     The Warrior is one of your better romances. Readers can expect an absorbing tale that isn’t weighed down with superfluous characters or facts. Delacroix focuses on the main and secondary characters important to the storyline. Don’t get me wrong, the historical features of the storyline are well executed -- goodness knows, Delacroix is known for her medieval romances -- but it’s the characters that breathe life into The Warrior and make the reader care.

    The Warrior maybe the last of a trilogy, but it reads as a stand alone romance. Everything the reader needs to make the story complete is here. If you like trilogies, and like to read them in order, then triple your pleasure and purchase the The Rogue and The Scoundrel for the extended tale. Delacroix’s next medieval Scottish trilogy, The Jewels of Kinfairlie, will be available in 2005.