Another Review at MyShelf.Com

Magic for Nothing
InCryptid #6

Seanan McGuire

Daw Books, Inc
March 7, 2017/ ISBN 9780756410391

Reviewed by Jan Fields


Picking up right where Chaos Choreography lets off, this latest InCryptid novel throws us right into the middle of the building danger from the Covenant of St. George and their plans to purge North America of the cryptid menace -- a menace the Price-Healy family calls friends and family. Antimony Price is used to being the overlooked child, never quite winning in competition with her older sister and brother. But when her sister Verity appears on live television with a giant snake god, the Price family knows they won't be able to hide from the Covenant any longer, and there is only one person who can help: Antimony. As the unknown Price child, she can infiltrate the Covenant and discover their plans before it's too late for her family. All she has to do is survive in the most dangerous place in the world. As with all the past InCryptid novels, I loved this book. Annie has more in common with her sister than she thinks or would like to admit. She's equally stubborn, bold, and morally strong. She also excels at the Price family blend of honesty and snark. As always, the Aeslin mice bring charm to every scene where they show up. I also loved the new characters who show up for this one. The Covenant members are so beneficently evil, a combination that can only come from true believers. I also loved the way the author deepened the characterization for Margaret Healy, the child left behind with the Covenant where she’s never allowed to forget her tainted bloodline. Characterization was as important as action in this latest installment and just as compelling. Though the novel has a nice feeling of completion to the arc, it also has me extremely excited to see what happens next for these amazing characters. If I were awarding stars, I'd give it a constellation.

Reviews of other titles in this series

Discount Armageddon #1
Pocket Apocalypse #4
Chaos Choreography #5
Magic for Nothing #6

Reviewer Janis Fields is the author of over two dozen books for children and adults including Threads of Deceit, Ghost Light Burning, Wellspring of Magic, and Emerald Dragon.
Reviewed 2017