Another Review at MyShelf.Com

The Winds of Autumn
Seasons of the Heart – Book II

by Janette Oke

Josh Jones is fifteen now, and living with his Aunt Lou and Uncle Nat during the week, while staying at the farm he grew up on at the weekend.  He still enjoys school, and wants to be a preacher just like Nat when he leaves, but temptations await.  When his teacher leaves suddenly to get married, another has to be found at short notice.  Mr Foggelson seems like a good replacement, and he certainly has a beautiful daughter.  But when Camellia starts taking an interest in Josh, his friends aren’t too happy.  Why is Mr Foggelson so interested in him too?
Here is another coming- of- age story, this time with an older Josh and a new set of problems.  His faith is tested with some radical ideas, Aunt Lou has some news of her own, and there are farewells to be said as well as new things to be thankful for.  This might be a slim volume, but it is certainly packed with incidents and things to chew over.  Josh tells it all in his inimitable way which makes it all seem very immediate and relevant, and while larger topics are pondered there is plenty of time for the things that make daily life good. : fFishing in the creek, going camping with friends, and the season of autumn.  Another winner from this popular author.

The Book

Bethany House (Baker Publishing)
June 2010
0764208012 / 9780764208010
YA/ Teenage / Historical Romance / Inspirational Fiction / Late 19th century / US, State unspecified
More at US || UK

The Reviewer

Rachel A Hyde
Reviewed 2010
© 2010